See you soon, Scotland

Dear Scotland,

My name is Alexis. I am 20, going on 21. My favorite color is purple, the light kind that smells of lavender and spring. And I hate spiders. Do you have those where you’re from? If so, maybe I will learn to like them. But, then again, maybe not.

I’m from the woods, but not the middle-of-no-where kind of woods. I live in a valley, surrounded by civilization in Northern New Jersey. Not so far out from the Big Apple, but far enough where you probably haven’t of heard of me.

Lately, though, I’m from the rolling hills and open country of Pennsylvania. I go to Susquehanna University and study Political Science and Creative Writing there. It’s my third year. It’s different from the hustle of where I grew up. It’s slower. Quieter. But I’ve found peace there. People who stop to look at you, sit with you. A family.

But we all get up and leave our families at some point, don’t we? At least for a little while. And you see, that’s what I’m doing. I’m taking a break. I’m coming to see you. I’m coming to wander your mountains and breath in your castles. I’m coming to meet your people. In three days, actually.

My bags are packed. I tried to leave room so I could bring a piece of you home with me. But then I saw the grey and white striped sweater my Aunt got me for Christmas. And I remembered Hosanna (my hippo stuffed heating animal that my sweet friend got me) is still sitting on my bed. Plus, I couldn’t resist bringing the pile of books sitting next to my bed I just haven’t had the chance to crack open. And so, that room I tried to leave, well, it sort of disappeared as I filled it with home. At least I tried, right?

I know you haven’t met me yet, but I have a request. Be kind to me. I’m American. The States are all I’ve ever known. Red, white, and blue color my vision, probably more than I know or would like to admit. I’m also shy at first. I like to get my balance, process the uncertainties ringing in my brain. But I sit by the fire and thaw out my toes. If you’re patient with me, you might even catch me doing cartwheels. And I can’t even do those. I’d love if you’d be patient with me. I’d love if you’d invest your time in me. I hope that’s not too much to ask for. I mean, we haven’t even been on our first date yet. But, you never know, maybe we will even fall in love.

I don’t mean to psyche you out. I just want you to be ready. Because, God willing, we are going to meet on Saturday. And that makes me want to puke and throw confetti in the air all at the same time.

I know first dates are awkward and all. I mean, especially because I am awkward and all. But sometimes they lead to something really special. I have a haunch that this is what that is. I have a haunch I might already like you.

So, all I really have to say is: See you soon, Scotland.

Love Always,

Alexis

 

2 thoughts on “See you soon, Scotland

  1. I look forward to being able to catch a glimpse of Scotland through your writings. May God bless you and give you a rich and splendid time in Scotland. Safe travels. And I hope to be able to see one of those cartwheels that you can’t do!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

